Minutes of the Captains meeting held in the National University of Ireland Maynooth, on the afternoon of Saturday 13th November 1999.

In attendance:

Mr. Eric Brady (EB), Prof. Cyril Smyth (CS), Ms Siobhan O’Keeffe (SOK), Mr. Keir McNamara (KMcN), Mr. Stephen Lipson (SL), Dr. Iain Morrison (IM), Mr. Ian O’Sullivan (IOS), Prof. Cyril White (CW), and Mr. Noel Pollock (NP).

John Stacey. (UL)

Sylvia Lennon, Brian O’Donoghue and Orla O’Mahoney. (UCD)

Muriel Cummins, Simon Geraghty and Tanya Strevens. (TCD)

Conor McGee (NUI Maynooth)

Andrew Dunwoody and Tim Whiteside. (QUB)


Apologies: Prof. Michael Hillery (MH), Mr. David Maley (DM)


The President, EB, thanks Maynooth for the excellent job they did, and states that this years numbers were very high.

1. Indoor T&F 3rd/4th December 1999

EB points out that officials are required. It is essential that institutions provide two officials. CS says that the entries are to be posted next week. To include statement on number of heats etc. Entries close at 5pm on the Wednesday before the event.

Everyone to let the IUAA know their preferred date for next year.

Celtic International Cross Country: CS explains how teams will be picked.

2. World Student Cross Country.

EB explains that we want an IUAA nomination for Team Manager.

Mr. David Maley was nominated by NP and seconded by IOS. CUSAI let Manager select the team and the IUAA will be asking that the Varsities are used as a trial. EB explains about people from outside Ireland being allowed to guest.

3. Membership Fee. 99/00-02/03

EB outline the outcome of the AGM and explains how institutions are being divided up. (as decided at executive meeting)

4. A.O.B.

Millennium celebrations should be marked with special medallions being given to all competitors.

Minutes compiled by Stephen Lipson.

Hon. Secretary IUAA.